University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Richard Turton
Scientific Officer in Physics,

School of Natural Sciences (Physics), The University of Newcastle upon Tyne

The University of Newcastle upon Tyne offers a range of undergraduate degrees in physics including Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Theoretical Physics, Physics with Medical Applications and Chemical Physics. All of the above are available as either a 3 year BSc or 4 year MPhys. There is also a popular Foundation Year entry route which allows students with non-standard qualifications access to these degree programmes.

The University operates the PARTNERS scheme, aimed at widening participation by encouraging applications from students from disadvantaged backgrounds. One aspect of the PARTNERS scheme is that applicants attend an assessed summer school at the university.

Research is concentrated in the areas of Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, Nanoscale Science and Technology, and General Relativity and Quantum Field Theory.

The University of Newcastle upon Tyne was awarded the title of The Sunday Times University of the Year for 2000-01.

©2005 The PPLATO Project

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional